One Bit of Truth to One Bit of Life

In the last session of New Attitude, C.J. Mahaney, in a message about applying God’s Word to our lives after the conference, encouraged the singles to simply apply one bit of truth to one bit of life. The one truth I felt convicted by the Spirit to apply is to involve God’s people more into my life.John Piper at Na 07
Prior to the conference, my attendance and participation in the life of my local church had been lacking. I missed church on Sundays and Care Group on Tuesdays pretty regularly. I used the excuse that I was busy with schoolwork, which was true, but in my heart I knew that I could have been more involved and could have pursued fellowship outside these church meetings. Naturally, in my flesh, I am proud and like being independent. I don’t like humbling myself by confessing my sin to others. In my pride, I believe that I can pursue sanctification in solitude apart from others’ help. After avoiding fellowship, overtime my heart began to be hardened and I was blinded by my sin to point where I felt no conviction and didn’t even desire to repent.

But praise God that He had brought my sin into the light before my caring brothers in Christ at New Attitude. By God’s grace, He has given me the will to repent and the desire to pursue Him. Thank God for not leaving us alone, but in His kindness, has provided a community of believers to help us on the path to holiness.

Here are a list of Scriptures that I am seeking to meditate on and memorize in order to apply this truth.

“Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called ‘today,’ that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.” (Hebrews 3:12-13)

“And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.” (Hebrews 10:24-25)

“Better is open rebuke than hidden love. Faithful are the wounds of a friend; profuse are the kisses of an enemy.” (Proverbs 27:5-6)

So far I’ve memorized Hebrews 3:12-13 and I am currently meditating on Hebrew 10:24-25. (If you see me, ask me to recite them!) If you know of any other verses that communicate the importance of this truth of involving others, please comment and let me know. I’m looking, in particular, for more verses that have a promise or benefit behind this command, so that I may be more motivated to include others in my spiritual life. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “One Bit of Truth to One Bit of Life

  1. Amen!! I was just introduced to this whole “Blog” thing…I’m a little late.

    I know that you have shared this in care group already after Na, but again, I would just like to encourage you that I have seen a tremendous difference in you. Gods grace in this area of your life is so evident .Your example in care group and the words of truth that you speak to me regularly is so encouraging and helpful. I feel so blessed to be in a care group with such amazing and godly driven people.

Leave a Reply

