By the Grace of God I Am What I Am

I am not what I ought to be. Ah! how imperfect and deficient. I am not what I might be, considering my privileges and opportunities. I am not what I wish to be. God, who knows my heart–knows I wish to be like Him. I am not what I hope to be. Before long, I will drop this clay tabernacle, to be like Him and see Him as He is! Yet, I am not what I once was–a child of sin, and slave of the devil! Though not all these–not what I ought to be, not what I might be, not what I wish or hope to be, and not what I once was–I think I can truly say with the apostle, “By the grace of God I am what I am!” (1 Corinthians 15:10)

– John Newton

2 thoughts on “By the Grace of God I Am What I Am

  1. I am what I am – a blood-bought, adopted child of the living God who changed me from what I was and continues to change me, and will continue His work until the day that I am presented faultless before the throne – not because of anything I have done, but because of His work of grace in me.

Leave a Reply

